Science Advisory Board


Science Advisory Board Member

Dr. Devlin is the Director of the Kansas Center for Agricultural Resources and the Environment and the Kansas Water Resources Institute and, also, a Professor of Agronomy at Kansas State University.

His responsibilities include coordinating and enhancing research, extension, and teaching initiatives pertaining to new and emerging environmental issues from an agricultural perspective. His goals include fostering holistic, interdisciplinary research and education required to solve agriculturally related environmental problems; providing for understanding of environmental issues in relation to agricultural production systems with a target audience of the agricultural community and the broader public; and developing relationships with agencies, organizations, and foundations to foster resource development for interdisciplinary and integrated research, extension, and teaching initiatives among faculty.

Dr. Devlin received a B.S. and M.S. in Agronomy from Kansas State University and a Ph.D in Agronomy from Washington State University

Dr. Devlin's biography can be...


Science Advisory Board Member

Dr. Hughes is currently an Assistant Professor at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego.

He graduated with a B.S. in Biochemistry and a minor in Latin from Geneseo College and went on to complete a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley. There, he worked with Prof. Dirk Trauner on the chemical synthesis of two terrestrial and two marine natural products. Dr. Hughes was the first member of the then-nascent Trauner research group to earn a doctorate.

Dr. Hughes subsequently held an extended postdoctoral/research associate appointment with Prof. William Fenical at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego. During this time, he led efforts in the discovery, synthesis, and chemical biology of several marine-derived bacterial natural products. In 2012, Dr. Hughes was hired as assistant professor at Scripps. He continues to explore ocean sediments for bacteria that produce novel natural products and aims to understand how these metabolites function in complex cellular environments.

Siegel%2c Dionicio picture.jpg

Science Advisory Board Member

Dr. Siegel is Associate Professor at the Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences' at University of California San Diego.

His research group focuses on the development of synthetic routes to natural products that promote regeneration. These synthetic routes provide the basis for subsequent investigations into the modes of action of the select compounds.

In addition, the established synthetic routes provide avenues for the optimization of the natural products’ biological performance through medicinal chemistry. Concurrent with these studies we evaluate the compounds for the ability to promote neuronal regeneration in vivo through the use of injury models in C. elegans and in collaboration with academic and industrial research groups using different animal models of neuronal injury.

Dr. Siegel received a B.A. Chemistry from Reed College, a Ph.D. Chemistry from Harvard University and completed Postdoctoral Studies in Molecular Pharmacology at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.

Dr. Siegel's biography can be found at:...


Science Advisory Board Member

Dr. Yarger is Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry & Physics at Arizona State University (ASU) and Director of the Magnetic Resonance Research Center (MRRC) at ASU.

Prof. Jeff Yarger's research program is interested in understanding the role that local structure and dynamics plays in controlling the physical and mechanical properties of a wide range of technologically and biologically important, but disordered, materials. Systems currently under investigation include spider silk fibers and biopolymers, protein clusters, polyamorphic materials, nano-particles and quantum dots, battery and fuel cell materials, and most recently diabetes related research. Most of this research is highly interdisciplinary and many projects involve collaborations with the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory, the Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and with other faculty in Chemistry and Biochemistry, Materials Science, Physics and Molecular Biology. Central to ongoing research is the use and development of solid-state NMR and MRI techniques applied...